why I love bean-ing vegan

Whenever somebody finds out that I’m vegan, this is usually their immediate reaction:

Yes. There’s life without cheese, and that life is sometimes interpreted as an expensive one. When I first told my mom that I was considering going vegan, she laughed… a lot. She told me that there was no way that I’d be able to afford it, let alone follow through. Well mom, guess what? Yes, I’m a broke student living on pocket change and what’s left of my saving account, BUT I’m determined to make this lifestyle change affordable.

1375644_10153301341800713_1716187524_n

vegan in natural habitat

Knowing what I can and cannot eat has forced me to really think about what to add to my grocery list: grass, twigs and leaves. Being a vegan is basically the same thing as being a rabbit. Like rabbits, vegans tend to habitat in meadows, woodlands and small outdoor cages. They live in groups and tend to think of themselves as better than everyone else. They also hate when people call them rabbits.

SIDE NOTE:
I was in the middle of Google searching why vegans were healthy, when these suggested searches came up:

Screen shot 2013-11-30 at 11.04.50 pem.

Back to what I was saying……..
I will be the first to admit that I have little to no knowledge of cooking a half decent meal. I blame my mother. (Just kidding mom I love you, this is totally my fault.) But in all seriousness, I have reacquainted myself with the same stereotypical boring vegetables that I grew up with, one being the zucchini; only $2 a pound, or free if you steal them from your grandparents garden. Needless to say, keeping your fridge stocked with fresh fruits and veggies is a must! Vegetable broth, whole-grain breads, nuts and seeds are some essentials that come in handy when on the go!

Screen shot 2013-10-02 at 7.24.51 pem.

Beans.
“You don’t meat, so you must have low iron. Aren’t you concerned about not getting enough protein?”, said everybody in the world

Garbanzo Beans aka. chickpeas are theeee bomb. You can throw them on a salad or at people! They also are high in protein. Home made hummus is an inexpensive way to keep up with your protein and have an excuse to eat large amounts of crackers.

WAAAYS TO SAVE
Container of Organic Hummus – $4.99
Fresh homemade hummus – approx. $2.50

  • 1 can of Organic chickpeas
  • 3-5 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 2 cloves of fresh garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon seasalt
  • 1/4 cup Organic olive oil
    *blend in food processor*

Following a vegan diet can definitely be more expensive if you let it. I know what you’re thinking. Trust me, I’ve been there. I found out on Saturday that it is in fact possible to drop a bill in the 10 items or less lane. Places like Whole Foods are notorious for being the Organic chain store, and when people hear the word Organic they also envision twenty dollar bills being tossed out the window. So be smart with your grocery list and plan ahead! Making your meals in advance and freezing them is a great way to preserve your time and money. If you are willing to invest your time into preparing cruelityfree/animalfree/tasty meals from home, chances are you’ll be saving more than just an animal’s life!

Smiling Lamb

How adorable is this cute smiling lamb? ADORABLE.

Feel free to visit my recipe page to find more inexpensive ways to cook up a storm on a budget. 🙂

xo

theblondezucchini

One response to “why I love bean-ing vegan

  1. Blonde Zucchini,

    The topic of this blog really appealed to me because I was raised a vegetarian, and with the exception of 2 years in high school where I ate chicken to help with my severe iron deficiency, have dealt with the social stigma that comes along with being vegetarian. Although the social stigma is a lot worse for vegans, I can totally relate when it comes to the certain comments that majority of people make upon finding out that you live a meat-free lifestyle. My favourite (sarcasm) comment is always the typical “but isn’t it hard to not eat meat?”. This one drives me particularly crazy because with where I am currently in my life, I believe it to be a lot harder to actually eat meat than it is not to. The idea of eating meat now literally makes me feel sick to my stomach. I feel sick even with just the slight metallic taste (which is what meat also tasted like to me) of my iron pills. Which relates to another point you made in your post, ““You don’t meat, so you must have low iron. Aren’t you concerned about not getting enough protein?”, said everybody in the world.” This was particularly humorous to me because I get that reaction all the time. However, as much as I hate to say it, they do actually have a point. As I said earlier, I was severely low in iron at one point and now I have to take a really high dosage of it daily! I would recommend that you take iron pills too, as there are serious side effects to living a strict vegan diet. Your beautiful hair could actually fall out! It happened to me, unfortunately. Anyway… to conclude this comment I would just like to say that your blog was a pleasure to read because of its relatable content. You also have a very strong voice that shows through in your writing, which is slightly addicting – especially your sarcastic sense of humour!

    I look forward to reading your new posts!
    xoxoxo,
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

