Your First Vegan pArTy

On Thursday October 17th, a handful of the world’s most amazing people (aka my friends) received an event notification from Facebook. This invitation was like no other.  I can only imagine the bewildered looks when they opened the event titled: Your First Vegan Party. The Facebook description read: “Saturday. Wine. Leaves. Vegan. Lets do this.” The event would soon hold recommendations for poutine, cheese croissants and chicken wings.

IMG_1026

sorry friends, no chicken wings in the check out

And so, on a rainy Saturday evening, hours before my guilt-tripped friends would arrive, I sat on the edge of my bed and stared down at the dark mahoney hardwood floor. My elbows rested on the knees of my high-waisted dark wash jeans as my heavy head hung; my blonde curls fell over my bare shoulders. I was exhausted. The food was made. The wine was chilled. The anticipation was boiling. After a glass (or two) of wine, damp fall jackets and soggy boots were left on the shag carpet in the foyer. Hugs were given and the crowd gathered around one of the two tables of food. Untouched vegan hors d’oeuvres were sprawled across the dinner table, almost as if there were being ostracized for not being smothered in steak sauce.

After munching on some carrots with homemade hummus, I started to realize I had to pull out the big guns earlier than I thought. Clearly the quinoa salad wasn’t cutting it with these people. The night before the party I prepared a few Raw dishes. Raw vegan dishes are composed of unprocessed raw vegan foods that have not been heated above 115 degrees Fahrenheit to allow the natural enzymes to stay intact. After countless recipes, I finally found two raw vegan desserts that i knew my non-vegan, double-bacon cheeseburger loving friends would enjoy: Elvis Bars and Brown Rice Coconut Crispy Treats!

THIS

Elvis Bars: expectation vs. reality

MERP

Almond Butter Rice Crisp Treats: reality vs. expectation

Creating these desserts took no longer that 30 minutes each. The frozen Elvis bars were definitely the most popular item on the menu. These chilly treats were made mostly of almonds, coconuts and bananas, and the best thing about them were that they were actually low in calories!…which also made me feel a bit better about eating seven of them. I remember my dad telling me that Elvis used to pack down peanut butter, bacon and banana sandwiches… so when I ran by the recipe for raw vegan Elvis bars, needless to say i was intrigued. Instead of using peanut butter, the almond-based crust held a layer of bananas and almond butter… YUM. There are no bacon strips in these bite sized pieces of heaven; however, these frozen treats are topped with melted vegan chocolate chips and coconut flakes.

elvis yp

Elvis digs the Elvis Bars

A surprising hit at the Vegan Party were the kale chips. Never in my wildest dreams would I think that my poutine loving best friend would have her hand in a bowl of lightly seasoned baked kale. I still can’t believe it. Kale chips are easy to make, and even easier to burn, so when making them, make sure to keep on eye on the oven after the five minute mark. Beside the bowl of kale chips, I made (for the first time that day) zucchini chips. Needless to say they didn’t last long. Im not sure what was more disappointing: the fact that the thinly sliced zucchini chips shrunk to half their size or the fact that I literally ate half of the pan and forgot to take a decent photo of them. Regardless, these two vegan chip dishes were easy, inexpensive and a great snack to have when guests are over!

Screen shot 2013-10-30 at 10.15.29 pem.

Zucchini Chips

Kale Chips

Kale Chips

When the rain had stopped pattering on the kitchen window, and people were giving their goodbyes, I sat down at the kitchen table and was grateful to have had shared a few of my vegan treats and wine with a few of my closest friends.

here are some of the pictures from the party!

xo

-theblondezucchini

4 responses to “Your First Vegan pArTy

  1. I liked this blog post a lot, it felt like a story! Very detailed and flowed well. One thing I think you should add in is perhaps the difficulties of getting others to eat vegan food or the presumption that it’s not tasty. Either placed before the story or after.

  2. Pingback: 6 Things you should know before you go V3GAN | The Blonde Zucchini·

  3. Dontcha hate it when the kale and zucchini chips shrink up!? I always think Im going to make this massive batch and then they shrivel up! Everythings looks delish though :)

Leave a Reply

